Gus Wetter School Principal Darem Van Oers gives a welcoming address during the 2019 Convocation and Awards Night Held at the school on Sept. 28th. Kevin J Sabo photo

Annual school awards night and convocation at Gus Wetter

The graduating class received their diplomas from Principal Darem Van Oers

By Kevin J. Sabo

For the Advance

Student excellence was celebrated during Gus Wetter School’s 35th annual Convocation and Awards Night.

Clearview Public Schools Early Learning and Literacy Coordinator and former Gus Wetter teacher Wendy Coppock began the evening on Sept. 28th by leading the assembly in O Canada and was followed by Gus Wetter Principal Daram Van Oers welcoming the students and parents to the evening.

During his welcome, he thanked the students, parents, and staff for making Gus Wetter School the place it is.

“There is truly great staff,” sad Van Oers.

“Thank you for your work and support.”

Clearview Public Schools trustee Erika Grice had the privilege of awarding the Junior High Honour Roll Awards to Tayah Perry, Brandyn Baird, Darcy Damant, Karli Fuller, Codi James, Toryn Johnson, Harmony Stirling, Jehlyn Stirling, Megan Grice, and Raelynn Weber.

The 2019 Academic Excellence Awards went to Tayah Perry (Grade 7), Harmony Stirling (Grade 8), and Megan Grice (Grade 9).

Junior High Faculty Awards were presented by Gus Wetter teacher Nola Fletcher, and went to Jayden Seth (Grade 7), Toryn Johnson (Grade 8), and Amie Roland (Grade 9).

The Junior High I.O.D.E. awards were presented by Mrs. Kay Hauck.

Core subject winners were Tayah Perry, Harmony Stirling, and Megan Grice.

Physical education winners were Jarret Fuller (Grade 7), Tayah Perry, William Ross-Torres (Grade 8), Sage Gonda (Grade 8), Cooper Rossing (Grade 9), and Raelynn Weber.

Industrial education winners were Jarrett Fuller, Tayah Perry, Darcy Damant (Grade 8), and Will Slemp (Grade 9).

Home economics awards were presented to Tayah Perry, Jehlyn Stirling, and Zoey Giffin.

After the Junior High awards concluded, the evening moved into the Senior High Awards, with valedictorian Raelene Coupland receiving the Governor General’s Medal.

Trustee Grice again presented the honour roll, with senior high awards going to Grade 10 students Garrett Compton, Cienna Duncan, Baylee Freimark, Kiara Gamroth, Jaxon Michielsen, and Taylor Seaba; Grade 11 students Devon Johnson, Baily Musgrove and Cale Neufeld, and finally Grade 12 student Raelene Coupland.

The I.O.D.E. Senior High Awards went to Kiara Gamroth, Kristin Fuller, Cade James, Garrett Compton, Payton Fuller, Lenae Van Oers, Ty Wetter, Devon Johnson, Roan Freimark, Jordan Taylor, Bailey Musgrove, Duncan Renschler, Taytum Wohl, Hope Wiart, and Cale Neufeld.

The Advanced Diploma Award for highest overall average in the 2019 grad class went to Raelene Coupland.

Senior Council awards were presented to Dalton Steinwand, Hunter Baldwin, Felicity Mannix, Raelene Coupland, Lyn Peach, Richelle Roland, Bailey Musgrove and Katelynn Larson.

Senior High athletic awards were presented by Gus Wetter teacher Luke Peters to Lyn Peach, Brianne Beverton, Hunter Baldwin and Brennan Grice.

Faculty awards were presented by Megan Wiancko to Ty Wetter (Grade 10), Shallyn Andersen (Grade 11) and Brennen Grice (Grade 12) and Ripley Giffin (grade 12).

Other individual awards and scholarships were presented as well, before the evening was capped off by the 2019 grad class, which had assembled for one final time, receiving their diplomas from Van oers, and Legislative Assembly Certificates from MLA Nate Horner.

The Gus Wetter School graduating class of 2019 are Hunter Baldwin, Brianne Beverton, Raelene Coupland, Spencer Doolage, Ripley Giffin, Brennen Grice, Hannah Jackson, Katelynn Larson, Felicity Mannix, Lewis Neilson, Lyn peach, Richelle Roland, Mikenna Schauer, Dalton Steinwand, Nicklaus Tullikopf, Jake Van Hienen, and Sean Wilcox.


The graduating class received their diplomas from Principal Darem Van Oers, and their Legislative Assembly Certificates from Drumheller/Stettler MLA Nate Horner. Also in the photo, Awards Night Emcee Ty Wetter. Cohosting with Wetter was Baylee Freimark (not in picture.) Kevin J. Sabo photo

Just Posted

Customer appreciation supper held in Castor

About 440 were served at the event, which was sponsored by UFA, Filipenko Brothers Const., Food Fair and Ok Tire

Trudeau has won the most seats — but not a majority. What happens next?

Trudeau will have to deal with some of the implications of Monday’s result

LIVE MAP: Results in Canada’s 2019 federal election

Polls are now closed across the country

Federal election saw 66% of registered voters hit the polls across Canada

Roughly 18 million people cast their ballots, voting in a Liberal minority government

Scheer says Canada more divided than ever, as NDP and Bloc hold cards close

While Liberals were shut out of two key prairie provinces, they took two-thirds of the seats in Ontario

Rebels extend losing streak to 5 against ‘Canes

4-3 loss comes after a disappointing 6-5 S/O loss on Saturday

People’s Party of Canada’s anti-immigration views ‘didn’t resonate’ with voters: prof

Party was formed on anti-immigration, climate denying views in 2018

PODCAST: Political Scientist Marc Froese discusses the results of the Federal Election

Western alienation, results, minority governments and more highlight this week’s The Expert podcast

Husky Energy lays off staff to align with lower spending plans and strategy

Company had 5,157 permanent employees at end of 2018, according to regulatory filing

‘Issue-by-issue parliament’: Expert says Liberals need to placate NDP to be effective

Scandals, social issues, racism defined 2019 federal election, SFU prof says

‘Wexit’ talk percolates day after Liberals returned to power with minority

An online petition is calling for a western alliance and Alberta to separate

Opposition to Trans Mountain won’t change, B.C. minister says

Pipeline projects proceed under minority Trudeau government

Alleged RCMP secret leaker must stay with B.C. parents while on bail

Cameron Ortis, 47, is charged with violating the Security of Information Act

Most Read