Opinion

OPINION: Why trade restrictions must be eliminated during 2nd wave of COVID-19

Nearly 100 countries enacted temporary restrictions or bans on the export of medical products this year

  • Oct 8, 2020

Early intervention in a mental health crisis is critical

‘With mental health matters, just like any physical health matter, early intervention is so beneficial and important’

  • Oct 5, 2020

OPINION: Stop telling students to study STEM over humanities for post-COVID world

‘Humanities play an essential role in aspects of global competence which have not been the focus of the STEM’

MP column : ‘Vague, expensive, and Ottawa knows best’

‘As the costs for emergency programs continue to add up, Canada is facing the prospect of a fiscal cliff’

  • Sep 25, 2020

COLUMN: The importance of treating yourself gently

‘Six months into this pandemic and I am starting to struggle. I am starting to be weary’

  • Sep 23, 2020

COLUMN: The importance of taking the time to simply ‘look up’

‘At least once a day, every day, take a good long look at the sky; at least once each day’

  • Sep 19, 2020
video
Fans support Rebels

COLUMN: Brave enough to ask for help

‘Your care and concern could save a life. Don’t be afraid to ask someone if they are really alright.’

  • Sep 14, 2020

DANSEREAU: A statue is not history

Opinion: A statue is not history

COLUMN: Local MP Damien Kurek chats with new Conservative Leader Erin O’Toole

‘This past week I had a productive conversation with Mr. O’Toole, and I can say he is already exceeding my expectations.’

  • Aug 29, 2020

Taking time to reflect on the last year

‘It’s only by stopping and reflecting that I realize how far I’ve come.’

  • Aug 25, 2020

How to help your child cope with the transition back to school during COVID-19

Experts say listening and validating your child’s fears is key

Stop spreading COVID-19, don’t infect parents and elders, top doctor tells youth

The 20-to-39 age group accounts for 60 per cent of recent cases

  • Jul 24, 2020

BOOK REVIEW: Lacombe author pens first novel “A Critical Human Error”

Barbara A. Glasier’s book touches on family, childhood innocence and redemption

COLUMN: A reflection on the first half of this year

We have passed the halfway mark of the roller-coaster year known as 2020

  • Jul 6, 2020

The Official Opposition will continue stand up to the Liberal Government and their lack of transparency

Democracy cannot take a back seat because there is a pandemic

  • Jun 19, 2020

COLUMN: Hearing the voice of God – the key is in the trusting

The middle verses of chapter 19 in First Kings describes a time when the prophet Elijah meets God

  • Jun 19, 2020

Reader reflects on the meanings and impact of democratic protests

‘I had the privilege this past weekend to be a part of something incredible!’

  • Jun 17, 2020

MP’s COLUMN: Seniors during COVID-19 and beyond

‘COVID-19 has disproportionately affected seniors and has exposed the gaps in the care and supports that seniors need’

  • Jun 7, 2020

VAUGHAN: Ending systemic racism is on everyone

Privilege in society cannot come at the expense of of our neighbours

COLUMN: Canada needs to remember rural communities as thoughts turn to pandemic recovery

Small towns often rely on tourism, which has been decimated by COVID-19

  • May 28, 2020